The Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of the Republic of India.


Facts about Bharat Ratna

  • The award was started by formal President of India Rajendra Prasad on 2nd January, 1954.

  • The number of annual awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year.

  • The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President.

  • The first Bharat Ratna's were awarded to Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan, Sir C.V. Raman, and Chakravarti Rajagopalachari in 1954.

  • Subhash Chandra Bose was awarded with Bharat Ratna posthumously in 1992, but refused by his family due to the controversy related to his death. It is the only incident in the history of Bharat Ratna that an award was withdrawn.



Rahul Kumar

Rahul Kumar is a member of Zigya's Science channel and oversees Chemistry as a subject. He has completed his Masters of Science in Chemistry from Punjab University. Rahul is always full of ideas and brings with him, the enthusiasm and charm to get people involved in them. Follow his work at

More Posts

Revered Ratna was last modified: May 27th, 2016 by Rahul Kumar