Chapter Chosen

Digestion and Absorption

Book Chosen


Subject Chosen


Book Store

Download books and chapters from book store.
Currently only available for.
CBSE Gujarat Board Haryana Board

Previous Year Papers

Download the PDF Question Papers Free for off line practice and view the Solutions online.
Currently only available for.
Class 10 Class 12
Distinguish between :

(a) Lipases and peptidases.
(b) Amylase, sucrase, maltase and lactase,
(c) Passive and active absorption. 
(d) Essential and non-essential amino acids.

(a) Lipases and peptidases

Lipases :
1. Lipases are enzymes for hydrolysing fats and oils.

2. These are insoluble in water.

3. Convert fats into fatty acids and glycerol.

Peptidases :

1. These are for hydrolysing proteins, proteoses, peptones and peptides.

2. These are soluble in water.

3. Convert proteins into amino acids.

(b) Amylase, sucrase, maltase and lactase 

Amylase : It hydrolyses starch into maltose, isomaltose and limit dextrin.

Sucrase ; Hydrolyses sucrose into glucose and fructose.

Maltase : Hydrolyses maltose into glucose molecules.

Lactase : Hydrolyses lactose into glucose and galactose.

(c) Passive and active absorption

Passive absorption :It is a physical process in which the absorption is along the concentration gradient. Energy is not used. Absorption is slow. It does not involve carrier molecules. Metabolic inhibitors have no effect.

Active absorption : It is a vital process in which the absorption is done against the concetration gradient. Energy is used up in the process. Absorption is rapid. It involves carrier molecules. Metabolic inhibitors reduce absorption rate.

(d) Essential and non-essential amino acid

Essential amino acids :
These cannot be synthesised inside the body. These must be taken with diet from outside the body. These are eight in number.e.g. isoleucine, leucine, lysine, methionine, valine, threonine, phenylalanine and tryptophan.

Non-essential amino acids :
These can be synthesised inside the body.  These may or may not be present in diet. These are twelve in number. e.g. alanine, arginine, asparagine, asparatic acids, cysteine, glutamic acid, glycine, histidine, proline, serine and tyrosine.


What is Diphyodont ?

Diphyodont is the condition of having two set of teeth during the life of an organism. For example : humans are diphyodont as they have two set of teeth namely temporary milk or deciduous teeth which are replaced by permanent or adult teeth. 


What is the function of enamel in digestion?

The enamel helps in the mastication of food.

What are Sanguivorous animals ?

The animals which suck blood e.g. leech, vampire bat, female mosquito etc.

Name the fat soluble vitamins.

Vit A, D, E and  are fat soluble vitamins.

What is the order of arrangement of teeth in each half of the upper and lower jaw ?

The order of arrangement of teeth in each half of the upper and lower jaw is I,C,PM,M.  I (incisors), C (cannine), PM (premolars), M (molars).