Previous Year Papers

Download Solved Question Papers Free for Offline Practice and view Solutions Online.

Test Series

Take Zigya Full and Sectional Test Series. Time it out for real assessment and get your results instantly.

Test Yourself

Practice and master your preparation for a specific topic or chapter. Check you scores at the end of the test.

JEE Eligibility
Zigya App

JEE Main Eligibility Criteria 2019


As per the Notification Released by MHRD, National Level engineering exam JEE Main 2019 conducted by the NTA.The exam conducting for JEE Main 2019 has changed from CBSE to NTA, it is important for candidates to know that the eligibility for the exam for 2019. National Testing Agency (NTA) has declared the eligibility criteria of JEE Main 2019.

  • The latest press release by MHRD mentioned that performance of 12th class will be required only for eligibility for admission in IIT, NIT and similar institutes. For the candidates to qualify in the JEE Examination, they shall have secured
  • At least 75% marks or be in the top 20 percentile in the 12th Class Examination conducted by respective boards. For SC/ST students this condition shall be relaxed to 65% marks.
  • 12th boards marks will not be given 40% weightage in 2018 for calculation of ranks as in the selection criteria for admission in an IIT for 2016. Rest of the selection process will remain unchanged for admission in IITs in 2018.

Eligibility Criteria


Age Limit

 There is no age limit to be eligible for JEE Main 2019. However, candidates need to pass 10+2 or the equivalent examination in 2017 or 2018. Candidates appearing for 10+2 or equivalent exam in 2019 are also eligible to apply irrespective of their age.

Qualifying exam

  • Candidates must have passed class XII or qualifying exam in 2017 or 2018.

  • Candidates appearing in class XII or equivalent qualifying exam in 2019 can also apply for JEE Main.

Subjects/subject combination

  • It is mandatory for candidates to have taken 5 subjects in class XII or equivalent qualifying exam

The 5 subjects for B.Tech/ B.E. are:

1-Language, 2-Physics, 3-Mathematics, 4-Any one of (Chemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Technical Vocational Subject), 5-Any other subject

The 5 subjects for B.Arch/ B.Planning are:

1-Language, 2-Physics, 3-Mathematics (compulsory), 4-Any one of (Chemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Technical Vocational Subject), 5-Any other subject

Number of attempts

JEE Main candidates can avail 3 attempts for the national level undergraduate engineering entrance exam.

JEE Main Eligibility Criteria for Qualifying Examination (QE)

To be eligible for JEE Main 2019, candidates need to qualify in any of the following exams:

  • Class XII or any other equivalent exam conducted by any recognized Central/ State board like CBSE, ICSE, Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, New Delhi etc.

  • Intermediate or Pre-University Course or Pre-Degree Course examination conducted by a recognized Board/ University.

  • Final examination of the 2-year course of the Joint Services Wing of the National Defence Academy.

  • Vocational examination of H.S.C.

  • National Institute of Open Schooling conducted Senior Secondary School Examination with a minimum of 5 subjects.

  • AICTE or State board of technical education recognised Diploma of at least 3 years duration.

  • Association of Indian Universities (AIU) recognised school, board, university examination in India or in any foreign country recognized as equivalent to the 10+2 system.

  • General Certificate Education (GCE) exam (London/ Cambridge/ Sri Lanka) at Advanced (A) level. This is only for admission to IITs.

  • High School Certificate Examination by Cambridge University or International Baccalaureate Diploma of the International Baccalaureate Office. This is also for admission to IITs.