Press "Enter" to skip to content

Languages in Banknotes

Nitesh Mittal 0 Languages in Languages in Banknotes

The languages in banknotes in India are a total of 17. 

On the obverse, the denomination is written in English and Hindi. 

On the reverse is a language panel which displays the denomination of the note in 15 of the 22 official languages of India. 

The languages are displayed in alphabetical order.

Languages included on the panel are Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

Nitesh Mittal

Nitesh is a graduate from the prestigious Delhi University and manages the content syndication and oversees quality control. His subtle wit and skills are much like a Ninja warrior, who is not seen or heard but felt. Nitesh is the bedrock in the editorial team and is a veteran at Zigya.
Join him at

More Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *