Press "Enter" to skip to content

Physics Nobel Prize

Princy P. John 0

The 2016 Nobel prize in Physics has been awarded to three British-born scientists, John M. Kosterlitz, Duncan Haldane, David J. Thouless for their work on exotic states of matter. The work explains, why some materials have unexpected electrical properties, such as superconductivity. 

The Nobel Prize in Physics is a yearly award given by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for those who conferred the most outstanding contributions for mankind in the field of physics.

It is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895 and awarded since 1901. 

The first Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to a German physicist Wilhelm Rontgen in recognition of the extraordinary services he has rendered by the discovery of the remarkable X- rays.

This award is administered by the Nobel Foundation and widely regarded as the most prestigious award that a scientist can receive in Physics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *